About the TrustInet project

Press Release http://www.hiit.fi Helsinki 14.3.2006

HIIT Receives Excellence Group Funding for Trustworthy Internet Research

The Finnish National Technology Agency (Tekes) has granted funding of 1.8 million Euro for 3 years 2006-2008 to establish an excellence group "Trustworthy Internet" at the Helsinki Institute for Information Technology (HIIT), the Telecommunications and Multimedia Laboratory (TML) at the Helsinki University of Technology, and the Computer Science Department (TKTL) at the University of Helsinki. The project is one of the four strategic research projects of the national GIGA research program for which TEKES has granted 100% funding.

The main objective of the project is to study the trust provisioning in the Internet. As changing the current Internet infrastructure is difficult, the project will explore the use of overlay networks to build and manage trust relationships between service providers and customers over networks. The project will proceed along research lines of overlay access, application integration, identity management, trust and session management, overlay scalability, and measurements.

The project has excellent international connections to academic institutions around the globe: ICSI, Berkeley; Tsinghua, China; IIT Kanpur, India; RWTH, Germany; SICS, Sweden; USP, Brazil; CERN, Switzerland; Petrozavodsk State University, Russia.

The project will employ six full-time researchers at various stages of their postgraduate studies, as well as postdoctoral scientist. The team will be located at the HIIT premises in Helsinki, Ruoholahti. The researchers are expected to actively publish in international forums and produce several dissertations during the project. An advisory board from the industry will follow the progress of the project. At the moment CSC, Defense Forces, Elisa, Ericsson, F-Secure, Karila A. & E., Nokia, Secgo, SSH, StoneSoft, TietoEnator, TeliaSonera have joined the board.

Research Director, Professor Martti Mäntylä is the responsible leader and Adjunct Professor Andrei Gurtov the leading scientist of the project. The scientific board of the project includes Professor Antti Ylä-Jääski from TML, Professor Kimmo Raatikainen from TKTL, Adjunct Professor Arto Karila from HIIT, and Adjunct Professor Pekka Nikander from Ericsson NomadicLab.